Question for Nicole

Chat with other listeners of the Nicole Marie show here!
-- On the Air from 8 AM - 1 PM

Moderator: Nicole Marie

Question for Nicole

Postby TFritz13 » Wed Jun 06, 2001 3:26 pm

Awhile back you mentioned that todays orchastra tune to a higher pitch then back in the days of when the composers (ie Mozart, Bach and other) composed their music. What does this mean? I am very confused. Or did I misunderstand?
TFritz13
5th Chair

Re: Question for Nicole

Postby barfle » Fri Jun 29, 2001 11:05 pm

Well, I'm not Nicole, but I've heard this said before by other people who comment on orchestral music. I'm also an engineer who likes music, so I know a little of the science of acoustics, etc. With that introduction, I will now state an opinion that may or may not have anything to do with reality.<P>The chromatic scale (which most composers use, it's the old familiar five lines with four spaces between, treble clef on top, bass clef on bottom, etc.) defines what notes a musician is to play at any particular instant in a piece of music. (duh) But what exactly is a "note?" Part of the definition is the frequency of the fundamental vibration the instrument puts into the air and the listener's ears. The old definition (not that old, I doubt if it were possible to measure this in Bach's time) is the A below middle C is a vibration at 440 Hertz, or 440 cycles per second. The rest of the notes have definite mathematical relationships to this definition.<P>Most of us can't tell if it's 440.1, or even 441 Hz. However, some conductors feel that the music has more excitement if the orchestra is tuned a little sharp. It's one of those "artistic" decisions that every performer makes all the time. <P>Most instruments can be adjusted (tuned) over a pretty wide range, so it's not usually a problem. However, if you are a vocalist, the high notes just got a little higher, and you could be in trouble in front of a few thousand people who are about to become ex-fans. Image<BR>